#Interview||Even If The Sky Falls By Mia Garcia

24218983

EVEN IF THE SKY FALLS BY MIA GARCIA

Publication Date: 10th May 2016

Blurb from Goodreads:  All she needs is one night to be anyone she wants.

Julie is desperate for a change. So she heads to New Orleans with her youth group to rebuild houses and pretend her life isn’t a total mess. But between her super-clingy team leader and her way-too-chipper companions, Julie feels more trapped than ever.

In a moment of daring, she ditches her work clothes for DIY fairy wings and heads straight into the heart of Mid-Summer Mardi Gras, where she locks eyes with Miles, an utterly irresistible guy with a complicated story of his own. And for once, Julie isn’t looking back. She jumps at the chance to see the real New Orleans, and in one surreal night, they dance under the stars, share their most shameful secrets, and fall in love.

But their adventure takes an unexpected turn when an oncoming hurricane 

changes course. As the storm gains power and Julie is pulled back into chaos she finds pretending everything is fine is no longer an option.

Barnesandoble || Booksamillion || INdieBound || AmazonUS || AmazonIN

Interview:~

Q: What does literary success look like to you?

Ans.  Oh gosh – this is such a good question. I think it is seeing my finished book on the shelf and knowing I completed something that I was proud of and people liked. It feels small, but when you’re writing that next novel and think “I can’t do this,” looking over at your actual finished book and seeing that yes you can is amazing.

Q: What kind of research you did and how long do you research before writing a book?Ans. In the book my main character is a visitor to New Orleans and I drew upon my many visits to the city and all the activities I did while I was there (except, sadly, meet a cute guy) and brought them into the book. I also spoke to locals and read books on New Orleans’s past and present. I also researched PTSD (which so happens to feature in another book I’m writing) and dove into a lot of my own experiences with anxious thoughts, guilt, and so on for how my two main characters are feeling.


Q: What is the most unethical practice in the publishing industry?

Ans. When I think of unethical practices, my mind goes to a lot of the sketchy self-pub/print-as-you-go places and agents that charge to read manuscripts. I’ve thankfully never encountered them, but I know it happens. I would recommend researching as much as you can if you plan to reach out and publish a book or find an agent!

Q: Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?

Ans.  No, but Mia is actually my middle name. My first name is a bit hard to pronounce if you don’t speak Spanish. I started going by Mia in college to prevent the mangling of my name – I still remember the audible sighs of relief when I said “you can just call me Mia,” when my professors tried to pronounce my first name.

 

Q: Who is your favourite character from Even if the Sky Falls?

Ans. While I do love Julie and Miles, I have a special place in my heart for my secondary characters Julius, Taj, and Danny. Whenever I think of a sequel I think of what these three are up to.
 


Q: Which character was difficult to write? 

Ans. Adam and Julie. With Adam I worried about representing PTSD correctly (which has so many varying symptoms) in such a short period of time. And with Julie I worried readers wouldn’t connect to what she was going through or wouldn’t be interested in dealing with her fears, sadness, and guilt in a romance novel.

 

Q: Do you read book reviews? How do you cope with them-good and bad?

Ans.  I used to! At the beginning when the advance reader copies went out I used to go on goodreads and torture myself with them. Eventually I had to stop and start a new novel and I haven’t gone back since. Good reviews made me feel relieved, like: “Oh good, it didn’t suck!”  Bad reviews, oh boy, they hurt, they really do. I didn’t think they would, because I constantly tell myself it’s not personal, but boy do they hurt.

Q: Something about your upcoming book? 

Ans. It’s called The Year of Everything and it’s about four friends who decide to actually follow through on their New Year’s Resolutions. It has heartache, new love, and above all amazing friendships.

 

About The Author:~

mia-garciaMia Garcia was born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico. She now lives in New York under a pile of to-be-read books while working in publishing (which does not help her book problem).

Mia’s debut, EVEN IF THE SKY FALLS (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen Books 5/10/16) is a Young Adult contemporary romance. The story details a whirlwind 24-hour romance in which two teens with questionable pasts fall in love just before a hurricane tears them apart.

 

Website | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

